late bloomer

Stories, musings, and pictures… a little bit late.

Happiness & Resolutions

1 Comment

On our way out to LA I bought myself a new book, Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project.

Front Cover

The premise is that Gretchen (not an unhappy person, nor afflicted by something like depression) seeks ways that she can be happier, because well, why not? Spoiler alert: she finds some.  Anyway, this book has really got me thinking that I have some room for improvement.

For the month of May I decided to challenge myself in the kitchen. My challenges were to drink only water and not eat after 8 pm. I really didn’t think not eating after 8 pm would be a big deal since I did it so rarely anyway. Well, thankfully, it hasn’t been that big of a deal, but when I started paying attention, I realized one week I ate after 9 every night. And it wasn’t like I was eating wholesome meals. Who eats vegetables after the sun sets?

Drinking only water, which I thought would be the easier of the two, has seen many more slip ups. So far this month I have only eaten after 8 two times. As I have not made a chart yet I’m going to estimate  50% success rate on the water drinking.  I am deeming it a success rate because although I didn’t meet my criteria, my consumption of juice, chocolate milk and the occasional soda is way down.

So for June, not only will I continue to Not Eat after 8 p.m. and strive for Drinking Only Water, I am adding Be On Time and Say Nice Things.  Be on time is pretty self explanatory and I suppose say nice things doesn’t require a lot of brain power either. However, there have been plenty of times where I have replayed something I said and then thought about how I would react if someone else had said it.

This month I will also be more diligent about charting my progress. I’m excited to see my progress. Assuming I make some!

One thought on “Happiness & Resolutions

  1. Catching up on the blog feeds…. I loved that book!!!

Leave a Reply

